Pahang Juara baru Piala Malaysia 2013

The Malaysia Cup (Piala Malaysia) is an annual association football tournament in Malaysia. The cup was first held in 1921. The competition is currently played at the end of each year's football season, and is contested by the 16 most successful teams in Malaysia's football leaguethat year.

The tournament began in 1921, when it was called the Malaya Cup. The original trophy was presented by the officers and men of a British battleship, the HMS Malaya. In honour of this, the competition was renamed the HMS Malaya Cup in 1933. A new trophy was inaugurated in 1967, and since then the competition has been known as the Malaysia Cup. A rugby uniontournament of the same name, was started in parallel with the football cup, and still bears the same name.
A league competition was introduced in Malaysia in 1982. Since then, the Malaysia Cup has been held after the conclusion of the league each year, with only the best-performing teams in the league qualifying for the Malaysia Cup. When the league began, it was intended primarily as a qualifying tournament for the Malaysia Cup. However over the years, the league competition has gained important stature in its own right.
In 2003, Selangor MPPJ became the first club team to win the cup. Prior to that year, the two teams which made the final had always been representative sides of the regional Football Associations, or military teams.
Teams representing two of Malaysia's neighbouring countries have been involved in the competition. Brunei won the cup in 1999 and continue to be involved (though in recent years they have been represented by the club side Brunei DPMM FC, whereas initially their team was organized by the Football Association of Brunei). Singapore used to enter a team organized by the Football Association of Singapore. Their team won the cup 24 times and are the second most successful side in the competition's history after Selangor. However after their last win in 1994, Singapore withdrew from the competition following a dispute with the Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) over gate receipts and have not been involved since. In 2011, Football Association of Singaporeannounced that Singapore would be back to join the Malaysia Cup in 2012.[1]
On 5 December 2011, Football Association of Singapore had unveiled the new squad list and line up planned for the 2012 edition of Malaysia Cup. The team will hence be named as LIONSXII.[2][3]


Most Times ChampionSelangor FA32 times, including two time champion with Singapore FA
First Champions Malaya CupSingapore FA1921
HMS Malaya Cup ChampionsSingapore FA1933
First Malaysia Cup ChampionsPerak FA1967
First champion after World War IINegeri Sembilan FA1948
The first winner of the 21st centuryPerak FA2000
First champion at Merdeka StadiumPerak FA1957
First champion at Shah Alam StadiumSingapore FA1994
First champions National Stadium, Bukit JalilPerak FA1998
The team that had won a hat-trickSingapore FA5 times (1923-1924-1925) (1928-1929-1930) (1932-1933-1934) (1939-1940-1941) and (1950-1951-1952)
Selangor FA4 times (1927-1928-1929) (1961-1962-1963) (1971-1972-1973) and (1995-1996-1997)
Kuala Lumpur FA1 times (1987-1988-1989)
First club team to competeJohor FC2000
The team first club championMPPJ FC2004
The team entered the final of the longest consecutiveSingapore FA1921-1941
The teams share the titleSelangor FA &Singapore FA1928 and 1929
The team entered the final but lostSabah FA3 times (1996, 2002 and 2003)
ATM FA3 times (1949, 1966 and 2012)
Sarawak FA1999
The state team that never played in the final yetMalacca FA
The team entered the finals three times (or more) but did not win allPerak FA2 times (1959, 1960 and 1961) and (1970, 1971 and 1972)
(Except Selangor and Singapore)Penang FA1952, 1953 and 1954
Kedah FA1987, 1988 and 1989
Perlis FA2004, 2005 and 2006
The team with the longest period gap of winning the Malaysia Cup againNegeri Sembilan FA61 years (1948-2009)
The team requires the longest period to win the Malaysia CupKelantan FA89 years (1921-2010)
Perlis FA83 years (1921-2004)
RecordsTeams and PlayersEntry
Most teams goal in the finalSelangor FA8 goals (1927 and 1968)
Singapore FA8 Goals (1933)
Most goal in the finalSingapore FA - Selangor FA10 goal (1933)
Scorer in the finalAbdul Ghani Minhat4 goals (1961)
Scorer, scoring a hat-trick in the finalMalaysia Abdul Ghani Minhat (4 goals)
Malaysia N.Thanabalan
Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia Ervin Boban
Australia Abbas Saad
Argentina Juan Manuel Arostegui
IndonesiaBambang Pamungkas

1991 1968 1994

Foreign coach most of the championship team leadAustralia Ken Worden3 times (1995, 1996 and 2002)
Players champion in the team most similarMalaysia Selangor Mokhtar Dahari10 title (1972-1986)
Foreign player hat-trick to help the team championAustralia Mehmet Durakovic1995, 1996 and 1997

credit to :


Written by Admin

Aliquam molestie ligula vitae nunc lobortis dictum varius tellus porttitor. Suspendisse vehicula diam a ligula malesuada a pellentesque turpis facilisis. Vestibulum a urna elit. Nulla bibendum dolor suscipit tortor euismod eu laoreet odio facilisis.